what's new

view more
「summvs」special limited edition set exclusively available at commmonsmart!

alva noto and ryuichi sakamoto's fifth collaborative album "summvs" CD and the original T-shirt (white/black) designed by alva noto set is now available for pre-order!!

the name of the artists' fifth collaborative release summvs refers to the latin word ‘summa’ (engl.: sum) and ‘versus’ (engl.: towards) serving as a metaphor for the work being oriented towards a collaborative whole. summvs is the last of a series of five releases that started with vrioon in 2002 and continued with insen (2005), revep (2005) and utp_ (2007).

passages of sparse yet emotionally charged and passionate piano solos are embedded in sine waves or reworked to establish new aesthetics of piano sound. sparse percussions and throbbing bass pulses hover above and below – the music being contemplative and minimal at the same time.

the new album summvs will host its world live premiere on may 12th, 2011 at the roundhouse in london, uk and will be followed by a european tour in may/june 2011 with stopovers in milan, assisi, rome, parma, brussels, eindhoven, leipzig, copenhagen, frankfurt, berlin, and barcelona. ryuichi sakamoto on piano and alva noto on electronics will present their fifth collaborative release with a unique style visualisation and an state-of-the-art technical setting and stage design.

「summvs」special limited edition CD + T-shirt set
summvs CD +summvs original T-shirt (white/black)
Size: Medium / Large
Release Date: 6/6 (Mon) 
Price: 4,500 yen(Tax In)

pre-order available at the link below:

alva noto + ryuichi sakamoto
r-n 132

01 microon I (3:00)
02 reverso (6:57)
03 halo (7:10)
04 microon II (2:38)
05 pionier IOO (5:46)
06 ionoscan (4:08)
07 by this river (4:08)
08 naono (11:20)
09 microon III (3:00)
10 by this river - phantom (8:30)